Instrumentation installed at UNH with the NSF EPSCoR RII award (2007-2011) has enabled research leading to the discovery of a new compound, a persistent nonacene derivative which holds promise as a semiconductor for organic photovoltaic and organic light emitting diodes, and has led to the establishment of Innovacene, a spin-out company to manufacture the devices.

Projects at UNH

Team leader Glen Miller, UNH Center for High Rate Nanomanufacturing, and Karsten Pohl, UNH Laboratory for Surface and Interface Physics

  • Carbon Nanotube (CNT)-Based Sensors
  • High Performance Quantum Mechanical Calculations on Organic Semiconductors for Sensor Development
  • Thin Film Organic Nanoparticle Sensors

Dartmouth-UNH Collaboration

Ursula Gibson, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth, and Yvon Durant, Nanostructured Polymers Research Center, UNH 

  • Sensors for Continuous Chemical Analysis and Real-Time Pollutant Monitoring 
scanning tunneling microscope   spin coater
Scanning tunneling microscope: Pohl lab, UNH   Spin coater: Miller lab, UNH


Other Instruments
Benchtop crystallography system Miller lab, UNH  
Thermal annealer Miller lab, UNH  
Thermal gravimetric analyzer Durant lab, UNH  
Raman FTIR spectrometer Durant lab, UNH  
Computer controlled photoreactor system Erik Berda, UNH  
Matrix assisted pulsed laser evaporation system Gibson lab, Dartmouth  
FTIR spectrometer Gibson lab, Dartmouth  
Scanning probe microscope Joseph Belbruno, Dartmouth